The 4 step plan to starting the school year off right.

Hello and welcome to mommy me VIP .  The end of summer is here and soon the children will be going back to school and for some of us school has already began. So, as a mom what can we to get our children ready for school and save ourselves some time so we can have some T. T. O.  (time to ourselves ). Before the children start school it is important to get the children acclimated to their school schedule. How do we do that? I have devised a 4 step plan to prepare the children for school at the end of summer vacation.

The end of summer 4 step plan to starting the school year off right. 
 
Set up a weekly schedule
4 things to think of when setting up a weekly schedule. Home work time, Dinner time, Bed time and, M. M. T. ( Mommy Me Time)
Homework time should be the same if not similar to how it will be during the school year.  During this time because the children are out of school they can have a book to read with a book report of their own choosing, but at the same time one that is grade appropriate. An alternative for this is to get books at the local bookstore and get them prepared for standardize testing that they will be partaking in during the school year.  By doing this you are not just setting your child up for success but yourself as well.
Dinner time should immediately follow homework time or close to it. While children are doing homework meal prep should be going on. More about this will be discussed during the mapping out an eating plan. Keep in mind that the eating plan should gradually lead into bedtime.  Depending on the age of your children each routine will be slightly different.
Bedtime during the week should not be spent watching TV  before the children hit the sack. TV can stimulate the mind a make it difficult to sleep at night.  Instead fill this time up with bedtime stories and preparing for the next day like setting out clothes and making snack for lunch and talking about accomplishments and goals for the day or week. I like to set bedtime for the little ones (ages 5-7) early like 7:30 because they are not as self-sufficient and they naturally need more rest. For  ages 8-10 8:00pm,  ages 11-14 9:00pm, ages 15 and up 9:30-10:30 and this is because the homework load is different and the necessity for sleep is different as well. Just because your older children are still awake does not mean that you should be catering to the family. If you have older children their schedule should be mapped out for them with their help. M. M. T should overlap the older children’s bedtime.
M. M.T ( Mommy Me Time)
Everybody needs me time especially mothers. It took me a while to get this concept, and I’m still working on perfecting it. I discovered the M. M. T. Several years ago when I was feeling worn down and could not press through my day I was wondering why my body would not do what my mind told it to do. I remember being younger in college pulling all nighters and still having time to talk on the phone, while doing homework for my other classes  and I was still  involved in other extracurricular activities. During this time it was apparent that something had changed in a major way in my life      Besides having a husband and two children I still considered myself to be young. I was looking at other women in my life who were older than me who seemed to be full of life. What was I doing wrong, what did they have that I didn’t have, how could I get Back to self? Inquiring minds want to know. It was at that moment I realized that I had fallen out touch with myself, I fell out of love with myself, I had just plain fell out.  The thing that I was missing, that these other women had, was time. I got so warped up into what my family wanted that I slowly forgot what I wanted. I went from a V. I. P. ( very important person) to my self to just a P. (a person). I was looking for my place in the world as a mother, a concept on the surface that would seem to be easy to grasp. I felt that I was ready to be a mom and I always wanted children. But, I had  no idea of where I should go as the mother of the family, the nurturer, and all the other roles a mom fills in the family. I have always had a passion for all things natural and total health.  But, somewhere along the way between having my children and taking care of my family I lost myself.  So now that I knew what the problem was I knew I needed to find a solution. My solution was to reinvent myself. V. I. P. obviously didn’t fit my lifestyle anymore and just being a plain old P. was defiantly not an option either. So I decided to transform from a P. to a V. I. P. Mom.
A V. I. P. Mom is a V. I. P. who integrates her V. I. P. status and her current mommy status into one. A V. I. P. Mom values herself and makes sure her needs are met, because she realizes herself worth and understands that no matter if she is functioning at 100% or not it will eventually rub off on the rest of the family and anyone else she encounters. So, join me on the journey to being a V. I. P. Mom.
By setting up a schedule you will be grooming responsible adults as well as creating M. M. T. (Mommy Me Time) because it’s so easy to lose yourself in your family. When you lose yourself, you’re not happy and you know what they say if Mamma ain’t happy ain’t nobody happy.
Thank you for reading my post and remember you also can be a V. I. P. Mom.

Leave a comment